Are you Jewish by religion or culture?

Thank you to another guest blogger, Senior from Atlanta, Georgia Nicole Lubel, for writing her thoughts on the question “Are you Jewish by religion or culture?” Nicole’s approach to this question was from the culture aspect and how a visit to Israel made this connection between Judaism and our culture even deeper. 

“Growing up in a conservative Zionist household, I always was surrounded by thoughts about “the Holy Land” and was very knowledgeable about the meaning of the State of Israel, but it was not until I experienced the Holy Land through my own eyes that I really felt a connection. During the summer of 2010 (after my freshman year) I went on a Birthright trip to Israel through The College’s JSU/Hillel. Even though I had been to Israel before, it was this trip that made the connection so much deeper. I was able to experience the Holy Land with people my age and of the same faith. Not only did I see all the contributions that Israel has made to the world, but I came to appreciate the importance of the Jewish State to the continuation of the Jewish People. I saw how important it was that we as Jews should always have a place to call home. To this day I try to do my part in advocate for Israel to insure that we always have a homeland. “

Image

Thank you to Nicole once again! How do you feel..do you feel that religion plays a large role than culture in identifying yourself as Jewish? Or vice versa? Comment on the post and let me know! 

 

Leave a comment